I’m so happy I was tagged by the amazing Aliz97! She has a wonderful blog called All the Beautiful Times that I would 100% recommend you check out! Without further ado, here is The New York Times ‘By the Book Tag’!


1. What was the last truly great book you read?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This book was great truly great, because it was a story that was not afraid of being different. It had sights of beauty, smells of smoke and popcorn, a magic that you only have to close your eyes to see. The story was long winded, it jumped from year to year. Giving glimpses of what you need to know, always leaving you wanting. I loved it. 


2. If you could meet a writer, any writer-dead or alive-who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I would love to meet Julie Kagawa. The way she writes worlds, creating narrative that is so real and tangible that flows so well is inspiring. I would want to know anything and everything that she would want to tell me. What I would give to speak with her for just five minutes. She is one of my greatest mentors. 


3. If you could require the president to read one book what would it be?

Regardless of the president I would require them to read The Book Theif by Marcus Zusak. Not only to read it once but over and over and over again. This book has messages and imagery that demand to be cherished and looked over. There are so many things to be learned from it.
4. How do you organize your personal library?

I organize my shelves by author, series, then stand alones. All books by the same author are together, then put together by series, then any single novels are together. My collection is small and growing. I can’t wait to see what books I fall in love with and collect next!


5. What book do you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I tried reading this book for school, but I just couldn’t stomach it. I hated Amir. I hated the cruelty. I hated the coldness of this story. I didn’t learn anything from it. It just felt like a knife to my soul. I wanted to like this book. I had heard so much about it. It just felt so wrong. 
6. What book have you always meant to read, but haven’t gotten to yet?

So many! Too many books fall into this category. For this I will say Horns by Joe Hill. I borrowed this book from a friend and ended up keeping it. I had started reading it, but got lost in so many other stories that it ended up on my shelves mocking me. I swear to myself I will pick it up again soon. I swear.


7. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

This is such a tricky question, because I do have a tendency to be drawn to a story and not knowing exactly why. The problem is those stories are always drastically different. Dictated by my mood and state of mind. The same things with staying clear of certain novels. Sometimes a book repeals me at one time only to have me love it later. It’s a strange thing of circumstance.


8. What do you plan to read next?

If things go according to plan I should be reading Schism by Britt Holewinski next or Baggage by S.G. Redling, but knowing me I will probably put those two off to read something else on my shelves. My priorities are so skewed. :/


9. Nominations!

I nominate: 

Thrice Read

Cleopatra Loves Books

And 

Literary Dust!
I can’t wait to see what all their answers are!

-Till next time!

7 thoughts on “The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

  1. This was a beautiful post, your style of writing is wonderful, and I’m glad I found your blog. I also agree that the mood you’re in may affect whether you like a book or not, and I definitely agree with the Book Thief, it will always remain as a classic. Wondrous post, once more 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

