When you wake up, you remember nothing. Not your name, or where you were born, or the faces of the people you knew. Just a single warning written to yourself before you forgot it all:

Emily, it’s me. You.

Don’t ask about the last two years… Don’t try to remember and don’t go digging. Your life depends on it. Other lives depend on it.

You start over in a remote place with a new name, a fresh life. Until the day a stranger tells you you’re being hunted for the sins of a royal ancestor who died centuries before you were born. You don’t believe him, until they come for you. Now you’re on the run. 

Every answer you need lies in a past you chose to erase. The only thing you know for sure is that others are about to die and you need those memories back.

But first, you have to stay alive.

I have never been more thrown for a loop by a book before. I could imagine certain things happening, but a majority of things threw me off guard. Usually I can kind of tell the direction a story is going, but that didn’t really happen with this book. 

One thing I really didn’t expect was how much this book made me cry. It has been a while since I had cried for a book and for some reason this book hit me like a ton of bricks. 

Going into it I thought that it was really cool to have a character that takes away her own memory on purpose. I was also intrigued by the aspect of her being descended from a serial killer. 

This book took those reasons and twisted and transformed them into so many other reasons. Many of them I do not wish to say here because they would spoil the experience that is this book. 

We emerge onto Visoka Street, I turn my face to the starless sky. 

It is raining. 

I never held much significance to rain other then I have always loved it. This book created a small yet incredibly important significance for rain that I do not wish to spoil. This quote made me cry when I read it and it is part of why I love this book so much.

This book made me care so much about so many people. The progeny made me care about people I didn’t like at first. It made me hope for them. It made me feel invested in who they are and what they stood for. 

I rated this book 5 stars. It was such a fun ride! 

-Till next time

Leave a Reply

