I was lucky enough to win the arc of this book in a giveaway this month. Once I recieved it I devoured it in just a few days. This book is its title “A Tragic Kind of Wonderful”

In the vein of It’s Kind of a Funny Story and All the Bright Places, comes a captivating, immersive exploration of life with mental illness.

For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm’s length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.
As the walls of Mel’s compartmentalized world crumble, she fears the worst–that her friends will abandon her if they learn the truth about what she’s been hiding. Can Mel bring herself to risk everything to find out?
In A Tragic Kind of Wonderful, Eric Lindstrom, author of the critically acclaimed Not If I See You First, examines the fear that keeps us from exposing our true selves, and the courage it takes to be loved for who we really are

Before I even went into the book I was taken by the cover and how much it fits. The glittering mania paired with the sinking blue of depression. A wonderful pairing that perfectly encaptures what this novel is like. 

I fell in love with the characters of this book. I found myself encaptured as much by the minor characters as the main one. Hurricane Joan, an aunt to Mel Hannigan, adds a controlled sort of chaos to the story that makes me smile. Mr. Terrance Knight, an older man who won’t sing unless Mel sings with him. (Mel is a horrible singer) Even Conner, a boy who tends not to make eye contact with anyone. Each character adds their own flavor to the story that makes it feel so tangible and real. 

I love the good moments, the scary moments, the joyous moments, and the sad moments. I love how everything flows into everything else and how warm this book made me feel. 

In the strangest of ways, I truly identified with Mel. Her thoughts as she went through all she went through felt like my own. Her struggles felt like my struggles. What made her smile made me smile. I had never felt so close to a character before. 

This book is so important. Important because it takes bipolar disorder and humanizes it. Makes it real. Makes it understandable. That’s one of the biggest things I love about this story. 

I also love how this book was written chapter by chapter to encompass Mel’s moods: her mixed feelings, ups, and crashes. It was so intriguing to see how she handled different situations differently because of her various cycles. It made me think of how I often am the same…

This book comes out January 17th. Be sure to check it out!

-Till next time!

6 thoughts on “A Tragic Kind of Wonderful: Arc Review 

Leave a Reply

