2016 was a year of discovery for me. It was a year of a lot of hope and a year that pushed me to want to be a better person to the people around me. Many of the books I read last year helped me to discover and want to keep that mindset. 

Here are the loviest books I read in 2016: 

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins


Impulse was the first book I read in 2016 and it had one of the biggest impacts and messages in my life because it made me realize that the mindset that the characters had in this novel was a mindset I no longer have nor wanted to have. It made me realize that the unflinching reality of how we often think in times of darkness might not always be the reality we hold for the rest of our lives. It helped me see that what I want to do with my writing, with every action that I take, is to give hope and spread awareness. To do good. 
The Night Circus by


The Night Circus was one of those books that feels like you are watching a beautiful show play out before your eyes. The beauty, the magic, the sights and smells were all so atmospherically wonderful. This book ignited my need to read more books set around a circus and is the inspiration for my personal exploration of the magic of being in the audience of a great show. 


Graceling  by Kristin Cashore 


This book made the feminist inside me so happy. Katsa can and does everything for herself with a badass flare only she possesses. Writing about her now makes me want to dive right back in and read her story all over again. I loved this but book so much. 


Fire by Kristin Cashore 

A companion to Graceling that made me equally as happy is Fire. Fire the girl with the power to control minds. The girl whose beauty is so captivating that it traps you if you let it. The journey and the separate world next door within this book made me smile. Another strong female that will do anything she can to protect those she loves. 

The Giver by Lois Lowry


The Giver is one of my favorite books of all time. I have read and reread this book to the point of near memorization. This book may be short, but to me the message is powerful. It was the first book to make me dream of doing something to create a better world and it was the first book that made me realize that we need all of life’s experiences good and bad to shape who we are. 


The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati


The prose in this book is beautiful, yet at times heartbreaking, but also hopeful. A unique and real way to look at bipolar disorder. I feel like I needed and was meant to read this book. 

A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom


This cover perfectly defines everything that this book is. Another book on bipolar disorder, it sheds light on the mental-illness that helped me feel like I could really understand it better. It helped me think of the illness as that an illness and not something that takes away from the human being, and that’s the most important part. 


A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly 


This book quickly became one of my favorite books of all time. I can’t describe well enough how much this book affected me. It helped me to really think about why I loved to read and it made me fall in love with books more deeply than I thought I could. All book lovers should read this book. All people could read this book. The dreams of a dreamer are outlined in each line in this books pages. 


The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti


This book was the second to last book I read in 2016 and I was so glad I was able to read it. I have never related more to a character than I have to Hawthorne. Her dream for adventure and knack for creating stories where there are none are parts of my own mind.Her loneliness is something I have felt for a lot of my life. Her battle to keep her beliefs is a battle I face. This book made me so many things, but the number one was love. Definitely one I will be revisiting sometime in the future. 
Thank you for reading! What were your favorite reads of 2016? What books have made an impact on your life? Let me know in the comments. 

-Till next time!



28 thoughts on “Loveliest Books of 2016

  1. What a wonderful year of reading you’ve had! I like the look of The Giver and A Northern Light very much – thanks for sharing your list 🙂 Hmmm, sooooo many wonderful books I’ve read this year, including a lot of non fiction, but best novel…The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge. Extremely thought provoking book with a feisty, courageous young female lead…
    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23592175-the-lie-tree?from_search=true
    Wishing you another wonderfully rich book filled year! Blessings, Harula xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! The lie tree sounds so wonderful! I’m definitely adding that to my wish list! Thank you so much for reading and commenting I appreciate it! The Giver is a wonderful futuristic bitesized read with a lot of moral punch (at least for me). A Northern Light is simply beautiful. I think you would love it! 😊 I hope you also have a wonderful year both reading wise and in life.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel much the same. With thousands of books out there how do you choose? Sometimes I feel that every book that comes into our lives is part fate part luck part divine intervention. Especially when you spend your time buying books from the thrift store 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You really should read it! I can’t say enough how much I loved it! The love in it is in a way unconventional and the story has so much spice in it that it leads you on an adventure of amazingness you won’t regret. I think you would really enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A really lovely reflection on some of your 2016 reads; there’s a few here I’ve heard of but also many here I’d be interested in picking up in the future! Thanks for bringing them to my attention. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Night Circus really does put you in the mood for reading more books in a circus. I had the same need once I finished it, too. Yet there seems to be a lack of them. 😦 I’m hoping Caraval will be the answer. Great post, and I definitely need to check out more of these! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping for Caraval as well! I keep hearing fantastic things about it. I hope to get a copy of it soon. I feel like the world really is in a need for more circus books. 😦 Thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

