Hello and welcome, I am glad your here. I have a confession to make, that may or may not be spoiled by the title of this post. 

I am a book horder. That may be apparent by the fact that this entire blog is inspired by and about books and the impact they have on my life. It is also more apparent by the fact that I buy more then 5 physical copies of books every month that I post about every end of the month in a book haul, but I digress. 

The world has a lot of books living inside it, and in those books, live even more vast and exciting worlds. I live for reading and learning about those worlds and the people inside them. I can’t help but want for more books every time I go out. However, my biggest, most beloved enablers are the thrift stores in my neighborhood. 

I thank God and the Universe, and every thrift store owner everyday for their existance. Within them are many books. Books that are so cheap and wonderful that every time I go to a thrift store I come out with at least one. 

However, this post is not just a confessional. It is place for me to let you know, dear reader, why. 

Going to a thrift store and finding a book you’ve been wanting to read feels like finding a piece of treasure that was discarded only to be found by the one who would appreciate it most. It makes me so excited to see a book I’ve been dying to read just sitting there waiting to be picked up by me. Even better is finding a book you have never heard of, but by doing a bit of research, finding that it is something that you could easily fall in love with. 

 Often the books I find were never read, perfect mint condition copies in hardcover or paperback waiting to be purchased for only $1-$2 dollars! Through purchasing at my local thrift store I can obtain up to twelve or more books for the price of one. The ultimate deal for the cheap book worm!
All the thrift stores I go to support great causes. So while I am feeding the book lover inside me I am also helping out The Cancer Society,  the Salvation Army, and Goodwill. Imagine that by buying books you are also helping a mother or child get better treatment for cancer. It may not be much, but I hope that over time it really does make a difference. 

Another thing I love about thrift store books, is that you often find things inside them. A post card, a receipt, a letter, a wayward bookmark, or even a airport confirmation statement. All these things are like finding treasures within a treasure and I love seeing what pieces of another’s real world life I may end up finding. 

For me going to the thrift store is a bit like gambling and I am a bit obsessed. You never know what you may find. What treasures may be unraveled inside. Or what kind of items you may discover within those books. Sometimes, I feel like finding a book within a thrift store is a bit of a twist of fate. I feel like it ends up being meant to be. 
Where do you buy books? Do you ever go on a trip to the thrift store?  If you have, what is the most memorable thing you have found? 

Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed this little confessional. Let me know your thoughts in the comments. 

-Till next time!

22 thoughts on “Why I am a Thrift Store Book Horder 

    1. Thank you so much! I don’t really go to the library ever because I don’t like to have a time limit on how long I can take to read a book. Especially because I will often read a couple of chapters of a book and then hop to a new one and then go back to it later. It’s just easier for me to own my books, that’s why I love the thrift store so much! 😊📚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love the blog. I enjoy bookshops and libraries of all kinds. I can happily spend hours browsing. Like you say, Like visiting new worlds. For that reason, I am rarely drawn to non fiction. I don’t hoard books though. Every few years I go through my shelves and, unless a book is particularly meaningful, or I want to read it again, I give them away, either to friends or to charity shops.

    I run a book network @BookDevon in my county of Devon in the UK (a beautiful part of the country with lots of literary goings-on). I’ll share your blog there and ask for more views.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Giving away books unless they were particularly meaningful is a really wonderful thing to do! I’m actually doing my first ever unhaul pretty soon cause I have books that I didn’t particularly like still sitting there on my shelves collecting unnecessary dust. Thank you for your comment! I really appreciate the support. It means a lot to me that you are willing to share my blog. Thank you again! 😊📚

      Like

    1. I found you through your end of the year favorites tag. I looked at your posts and found that I really enjoyed them! So I happily followed you. Thank you for your comment it means a lot that you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never thought of thrift shops that way! I love it when you described how you can also find things inside thrift store books, “like treasures inside of treasures.” Great usage, just followed 😉
    I am relatively new to this blog world, mind checking some of my posts and telling me your opinions? I will greatly appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post!! My favorite bookstore is a used bookstore in Denver called Black and Read. Every time I go to CO, I have to go there and buy a stack of books. I love finding little treasures inside, like bookmarks, highlights or writing! ❤️ -Ashley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

