I just started reading The Diviners by Libba Bray and I am getting so many flappers vibes that I decided that I wanted to make a 1920’s Diviners Playlist! 

When I was in high school my English teacher was a huge enthusiast of the 1920’s and after we read “The Great Gatsby” we learned how to dance the Charleston, as well as other 1920’s dances. 

If you are interested here is a How to Dance the Twisting Charleston (My favorite!) click here!

On to the Music! 

Ain’t We Got Fun Peggy Lee (first lyrics meantioned in the book) Link.

Angel Child Louis Armstrong Link.

“Yes, Sir! That’s My Baby!” Lee Morse Link.

Who’s Sorry Now Marion Harris Link.

“Ain’t She Sweet?” Gege Austin Link.

Swanee Al Johnson Link.

Look for the Silver Lining Marion Harris Link.

Down by the Ohio The Andrews Sisters Link.

Here is a quick video of flappers dancing in memorium to Ruta Badowski (the start of it all) here.

I am so so happy that I thought to do this post! It was so much fun to do. I hope you enjoyed reading it! (I think this encaptures how big of a nerd I actually am) I love the 1920’s and I am so excited to be reading a book in that era. 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. 

-Till next time! 

15 thoughts on “The Diviners Playlist

    1. I’ve got it, Iā€™m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts! Thank you so much for helping me out.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for including me Tiana. I’m truly quite honored! Hmm. Okay. I know this is going to sound like I’m taking an easy way out, but my answer to you first question would be books. They take us places where we may otherwise never go. We meet the most fascinating figures in them. And, they’re a never ending source of inspiration. I have so many quotes I love, but this one by G.K. Chesterton has always been a particular favorite of mine: “Fairy tales are more than true – not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten.”

        Liked by 1 person

        1. This is so awesome! I love your answers. That quote is also one of my favorites as well, it really hits a powerful note in me. I’m so happy that you are participating in this! I can’t wait to get this post up!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

