Every time I find a fellow reader I am filled with surprise. It actually pains me to feel that way. I both know and don’t understand why my knee jerk reaction to meeting another human being who loves to read is surprise. It’s as though I have lost my faith for humanities ability to read for pleasure. This feeling is born frim my school experience, where as I furthered from grade to grade, my love for reading grew and for others it became practically  non-existent. 

There were so few people in my high school that enjoyed reading that it made me want to cry. English class and reading assignments were met with groans, (though for a majority the only reading that was done was provided by Sparknotes) if it was a book and school related there was no reason for it to be read. I will however admit, that I am not speaking about my entire class, but the loud collective groan responding reading another chapeter of Tess of the D’Ubervilles or any other piece of literature in ap lit. 

There were little gems in that class that actually read and they all made me so happy that I was often filled with a desire to give them a hug (I would probably have weirded them out if I followed through with that). People who actually discussed the book and answered questions and sometimes actually enjoyed it! *gasp*  

The problem is those memories that slowly formed shaped the way I thought about how anyone I came into contact with read. I hate that when I talk to someone and they meantion that they read they are met with a strong almost accusational “You doooo!?!?!” I wish I responded with more chill conversation like, “That’s awesome! What kind of books do you like to read?” Or “Me too! What are some of your favorite reads?” Or just something a lot nicer. 

I want to believe in readers and I want to be able to communicate like a normal human being again. It’s almost like my high school experience has made me cynical, not allowing me to feel comfort in the fact that there are readers out there in the world that I may meet in real life. I just have to cut out my disbelief and believe. There are readers out there. Many of them are reading these words now. I have to stop thinking of reading as a dying thing. There are more readers out there than I think, at least I hope so. 
Let me know your thoughts. Do you ever feel surprise when you meet a fellow reader? Tell me your stories. I’m hoping I’m not the only one. 


Thank you for reading!


-Till next time!

18 thoughts on “Being a Reader In a Non-Reading World

  1. Luckily for me, most of my friends love to read, some more than others but I can generally talk to all of them about books (some I full on fangirl with though). I am lucky that my high school lit class is full of very enthusiastic people, and although we may not all like the book or read as much as each other, we all participate and are readers of varying levels. I think having an amazing teacher helps! It is sad though how few people there are that read.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It makes me so sad that there are so few people that still enjoy reading. :/ In my old school, people found it so weird that I read and sometimes when I’d sit with a book during break, my friends would come and say things like “why don’t you watch the movie” I wanted to stab them. (Jokes :P) In my new school, a lot more of my friends read! And we all read similar books so it’s fun to discuss all the things together. I was honestly so surprised to know that there are still people my age who enjoy reading!
    Our English classes are really dull though because our curriculum is pretty boring 😛 My teacher tries but she can’t make the books any better xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes me sad as well, I wish more people would experience the amazing things that happen in books, especially outside of school books. I feel that if students were given the opportunity to read something fun they would more likely get into the habit of reading, but it’s great that you had a group of friend that read similar things to you.
      It is always wonderful to have someone to discuss your thoughts with.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It makes me so sad to think that there are so few people that still enjoy reading. :/ In my old school, people found it so weird that I read and sometimes when I’d sit with a book during break, my friends would come and say things like “why don’t you watch the movie” I wanted to stab them. (Jokes :P) In my new school, a lot more of my friends read! And we all read similar books so it’s fun to discuss all the things together. I was honestly so surprised to know that there are still people my age who enjoy reading!
    Our English classes are really dull though because our curriculum is pretty boring 😛 My teacher tries but she can’t make the books any better xD

    Like

  4. I love your post. Your words couldn’t have been any more truer. My first encounter with reading started out in 6th grade. I don’t remember how I stumbled upon the book, but I just remember not being able to put it down. Each word glued the book to my fingers. I remember feeling like their was no one else in the world who could understand the joys of reading, well, that’s what I thought at first. I was very antisocial in middle school so even then, during class and lunch, I’d read. It was like a show in my mind. It was like a T.V.! It was truly an amazing experience, and my love for reading grows because even though at first no one at my school read, or even of they did, ever spoke to me how cool the book was, I felt comfort from books. My bestfriend and I were polar opposites then, but when I handed her the book to read, I knew she wasnt going to read it, so I found a funny part and made her read it. That’s when my bestfriend started falling in love with books. I use to bring her them after I finished reading them and she would gush how amazing and stupid the characters could be. However, in high school, I’ve met friends who read like its their world, and I didn’t feel alone, I befriended one and I discovered we both liked to read and write stories. Reading is my life and if Books ever go extinct, I would probably have saved a ton in my basement for me to survive the apocalypse. But your post brought me to a clear understanding of seeing it from someone else’s POV and I found it comforting in my own way. Do write more about your experience with reading, your benefiting people who have no voice. This was an amazing post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! This post honestly made me feel both inspired and amazed. All you say about being glued to a book is so true. I love how beautiful words can be and what we could learn from them. I love giving myself to a world of characters and living their stories. I’m so glad that you made a reader in your friend, and I am so grateful for your comment. This has truly made my day. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! I read almost any genre, but I prefer ya in general, but I think that literary fiction is wonderful in its own way.

      Btw, you are my partner for the comment challenge right? It’s nice to meet you and I look forward to chatting with you this month! 😊

      Like

  5. I know exactly how you feel. I was fortunate enough to have a whole group of reading friends in high school, but now people seem to have drifted away from it and gotten more involved with the minutiae of daily life. But I was blown away when I got introduced to Bookstagram. Here I was suddenly surrounded by a family of kindred spirits who not only love to read but consider it a necessity of life akin to eating or breathing. It’s been great to hold bookish discussions and fawn over literary obsessions with people who love the written word just as much as I do.
    I would love it if you became one of those people too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this! It’s so true, I love the booktagram and book-blogging community, it’s so wonderful to feel as though I have a place where I really connect with fellow book lovers. Reading is truly something that tugs at my soul. I love it with all my heart. Thank you for this.
      I hope to be one of those people you can discuss with as well! It’s so wonderful to speak with fellow bookworms! 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent written post Tiana! I always felt lonely most of my life like I had no outlet to express my thoughts or escape but once I got into reading everything changed. All these doors were opening while expanding my creativity. I remember when I told a group of my friends and they’re jaws hit the ground. I was almost sure you could hear the thuds! One was like “WHATWHAT REALLY?!” It kind of made me feel bad. Not because I was reading but I thought they imagined me as an idiot who couldn’t read words off paper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I feel much the same. I can imagine how it might feel that way when someone responds like that, that’s part of the reason why I want to connect with more readers without that knee jerk reaction. Beautiful comment. thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

