This nation needs to band together 

Hand and hand 

Skin to skin 

There is no difference in our hearts 

Just taught hatred 

And hundreds of years of false memories 

Our anger has created our pain 

We must mold that anger 

Turn it to love 

We must change our hearts 

To see that those before us 

Are here with us trying to be 

There is no reason for envy

No reason for bitterness 

No reason to raise your hands against another 

There is no race 

This is no orientation 

Nothing in death 

We have created this filters in living 

Built our brains to see our difference 

I am white so black must be wrong 

No, that is wrong 

I was born in the world to see that because I am human, I can appreciate all color 

Because color is beautiful 

Our hearts are beautiful 

Let us not wallow in our pains 

This world was not built to be against us 

I choose to put my heart with yours 

Because I know this world is not meant for this self-destruction 

Our history is one of war

Our present is one of both hardship, suffering, and an artists hope

Don’t let our future be in ashes 

This is my soul before you 

My true passion 

And my dream 

Will your soul your beating heart beat with mine 

Or will you remain silent or choose to be blind in anger 

We can make our lives better 

This is not the time for silence 

Sing out and sing proud together in harmony 

Because as the grating sound of clashing voices is ugly and painful 

Our voices flowing together can make this world beautiful 

/ Thank you for reading, I hope you take these words to heart. I had another post planned for today, but I was once again reminded that there is something greater that needed to be said. My poetry is my medium to raise my voice. I would hope that you do what you can to raise yours too. Whatever you care about, whatever your passions, please speak out. Let our hearts beat together. Praise be and stay beautiful, inside and out. 

-Till next time 

2 thoughts on “My Anthem

Leave a Reply

