The time is almost upon us! Legions of writers coming together for a single month to write as many words as their fingers and time will allow. Camp Nanowrimo! 

I have not successfully completed any Nanowrimo of any kind since I tried for the first time a in 2015. However, I am trying once more and this time I feel confident that I can conquer this beast that has been plaguing me since my mom ignited the writing bug inside me not so long ago. 

I am 18 years old, a short unedited novel under my belt and a poetic heart to share with the world. I refuse to let myself give in to the temptation that is procrastination, because if I do not write, I am silencing an aching part of my soul. 

So I am proud to announce my participation in this April’s Camp Nanowrimo!

May the Lord guide me and keep me on the right path. 

I have chosen to write a poetry book this time around. Poetry is what sparked my love for writing and it’s only write that my first successful Camp Nanowrimo is a book of poetic thought. 

My word count goal for this month is 25,000 words. I already have 1,368 words written towards this book and whatever number that I end up with before Camp starts will be added with the 25,000 so I stay true to the process. 

Here is a single poem to give the tinest taste of what kind of tone I want this book to take:

You spoke sugar words into my mouth 

Brought me to life with you’re black poison

I was tethered to you by affirmations 

You said I was pretty, smart, courageous 

My heart grew for your own 

Yet you used my love for your advantage 

You knew I would follow you to the depths 

And to the depths you took me 

Destroying me with your sought after addictions
In my head it will be a mix of societal call outs. Our hearts obsessions and being the subject of oppression. It will be dark. It will hurt and it will not be pretty. I’m so excited to write this book! 

Thanks for reading! Please let me know your thoughts on this poetry book and any suggestions for themes or any specific issues you would like for me to cover around Obsession and oppression. Also let me know if you would be interested in a bit of darker poetry at all and if you like the vibe the poem I included here gives off. Thanks for being here and for the continued support! Let me know if your joining or thinking of joining Camp Nanowrimo! My cabin still needs members so I’d love it if you could join me!

-Till next time!

28 thoughts on “Announcing My Camp Nanowrimo Project! 

  1. Dark poetry is always my favourite. I have only ever put one poem on my blog and that’s a dark one. So I approve 🙂

    What’s the short novel you have written (genre etc…) i’m an author of all things dark and have proofread etc … before. So if you ever need a fresh set of eyes for it, lemme know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this comment! Dark poetry can be a lot of fun to write though it comes from a sadder and well darker place. Also, I would LOVE it if you could look them over! Having another set of eyes would be wonderful!
      The short novel I have written is a memoir type piece about my experiences with writing as a teen called “Confessions of a Teenage Writer” that I finished before completing high school. That one honestly needs a bit of work, but I have it on wattpad and it’s done pretty well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem. Love to encourage writing 🙂 writing short stories is good practice. It takes a lot of effort to tell a convincing story in a short amount of words. It’s great practice. Always fun to send them out to magazines as well. If they get accepted it’s a good way to get publishing credits for the old CV

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wahhh, writing a poetry book for NaNoWriMo! It is the first time I’ve heard this one, but I definitely love the idea! Also really like the theme you want to tackle. I’m sure you’ll come up with some very nice pieces, based on that sneak peak! 😀 Best of luck on your project. 😉

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Best of luck, Tiana! ❤ Not that you'll need it because you'll do great but still 😉
    So proud of you for doing this, girl! I've tried and failed before… I just can't commit to writing a novel hahaha So everyone who does it is an inspiration to me.
    I'm not an avid poetry reader so I can't really give much advice but I love what you have going on here! Seems to come from the heart and that's what's important ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

