I have never talked about movies I have watched on The Book Raven before, but after watching Ballerina my heart is all warm and fuzzy and I just want to discuss it with you all! 

First a quick synopsis: 

11-year-old orphan, Félicie (Elle Fanning) has one dream – to go to Paris and become a dancer. Her best friend Victor (Nat Wolff) an imaginative, but exhausting boy with a passion for creating has a dream of his own, to become a famous inventor. In a leap of faith, Victor and Félicie leave their orphanage in pursuit of their passions. But – there’s a catch, Félicie must pretend to be the child of a wealthy family in order to gain admittance to the prestigious and competitive Opera Ballet School in Paris. And with no professional dance training, she quickly learns that talent alone is not enough to overcome the ruthless, conniving attitudes of her fellow classmates, led by the devious Camille Le Haut (Maddie Ziegler). Determined to succeed, Félicie finds her mentor in the tough and mysterious school custodian, Odette (Carly Rae Jepsen) who, along with Victor’s encouraging friendship, help her reach for the stars.

This sweet film made me feel so inspired and happy. I haven’t watched as many animated films as I used to (mostly because my sister thinks 18 is too old for them and she and my mom have control over the tv 85% of the time) but I have always loved them with all my heart. There is something about the innocent wonder, the willingness to pursue your passion without thinking about what could go wrong that makes me want to embody that state of mind once more. 

As a kid I never really felt totally like a kid at all, but I believed in something better, something brighter and beautiful, and this movie makes me want to live in that belief and stay in it. Félicie is a girl with a dream to be a dancer that was seeded inside the fabric of her being since she was born. Living as an orphan never dulled that fiery spirit in her and when she escapes with her best friend Victor to Paris a beautiful and inspiring story unfolds. 

I don’t so much want to talk about the specifics of what I loved about the movie, for I know they would be littered with spoilers and I really hope that for any of you animated film fans to please watch this! 

I can’t stop smiling about this film and I’ll admit that it caused me to dance around my living room with little grace but it made me more alive then I had felt in a long while and that, that is why I love stories. I am now more optimistic about the future then I was before. I hope this is a feeling you all get when you watch this movie as well!

Btw my favorite part has a little something to do with what Victor calls the Statue of Liberty, but I digress. 

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed my mini-discussion about this gorgeous movie! (The animation was beautiful!) What movies inspire you? Do you have a favorite animated film? What do you do when you need a boost in your stride?

-Till next time!

13 thoughts on “Ballerina: A Movie Discussion

  1. Oh this sounds so cute and innocent-like! I just hope I find it as sweet as you did 🙂
    I love dancing, although I never tried ballet myself. But I love the idea of it and watching others twirling around really makes you want to get on your feet hahaha Such a fascinating passion to have!
    Great review, Raven 🙂 I hope to see more of these on your blog!

    Like

  2. This movie is definitely on my to-watch list since I first saw the trailer and I’m glad you loved it sooo much. I definitely need to make some time to watch this wonderful movie, these kinds of movies are such a breath of fresh air and gives so much hope! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This movie sounds so cute! I’m a HUGE fan of animated movies, even though I’m too old to watch them, lol. My favorites is Finding Nemo (duh), Finding Dory (double duh), and Zootopia. I’m really looking forward to watch this, and hopefully I’ll enjoy as much as you did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

