The other day I posted my entire tbr and I asked you all to choose which book I should read next! I went through all the responses added then in a random word picker (so every response had equal chance.. (though every time a title was meantioned added an extra entry for that title) that I will soon show and pressed randomize. 

Here is what it all looked like: 


So many of you wanted me to read Pride and Prejudice! Out of all the choices that one was definitely the most popular. However, we shall see what the randomizer picked… 

drum roll please

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

That’s right! Wonder by R.J. Palacio won!!!

Thanks to Gracie Chick for being the first one to recommend Wonder. Your suggestion won! 

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?
R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels. 

With Wonder the movie coming out soon and how emotional and beautiful this book sounds like it is going to be, I’m really excited to be reading this next! 

I honestly wasn’t planning on reading this for a very long time, so I’m glad that I am getting to read it now! 

Thank you to all who made suggestions! It had a far better turn out then I expected. I guess you all like to tell everyone what it is they should be reading. 

-Till next time!

P.s. Review of Now I Rise will be up tomorrow!

17 thoughts on “What I Will be Reading Next: Thanks to you!

  1. I want to read this but I know it will stir up too many emotions for me. My daughter was born with a severe cleft lip and palate and the negativity from people was disgusting. That being said we also had support from strangers but they were folk who had been through it with their own and was generally older women with their children all grown up.

    I know this was written after the author’s reaction to a child with a deformity, she had moved so her child wouldn’t see and in turn, make a fuss so possibly the narrow-minded reaction of the author has contributed to this. I am aware that she wrote it knowing she had done wrong and wanted people to see things from the child’s perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think that this novel would be an amazing read for you. Especially, because of your daughter. Sometimes I think, we need to let those long stirring emotions out lest they threaten to overcome us in the future. I also think it’s especially good to do so in response to a story that is trying to make a positive change in response to our greatest hurts.

      I never knew that the author had reacted negatively to seeing a child with a deformity. That makes the story all the more important for me to read I think. Sometimes are visceral reactions make monsters of us. Sometimes we only need to open our eyes a little wider to see our wrongs. Most would have never done anything to change. So I’m so happy this author decided they would.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. They do! My worry about doing it would be getting emotionally invested and bring the work home. When I have helped people in abusive relationships or that have been in rehab it leaves me a mess and I wouldn’t have been friends with them just they reached out to me for help due to a friend of a friend type of thing

            Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so excited to be reading it! I actually had to put reading this on hold because I had forgotten about a few book I had to read off my July Tbr, but this is definitely going to be the first book I read in August!

      Like

Leave a Reply

