Dying: A Memior by Cory Taylor 



My Rating:
5/5 Stars

Publisher: Tin House Books

Release Date: August 1st

Recieved: I recieved a netgalley e-arc in exchange for an honest review. 

Pre-Order: Amazon / Book Depository

A deeply affecting meditation on dying and a wise tribute to life.

At the age of sixty, Cory Taylor is dying of melanoma-related brain cancer. Her illness is no longer treatable: she now weighs less than her neighbor’s retriever. As her body weakens, she describes the experience—the vulnerability and strength, the courage and humility, the anger and acceptance—of knowing she will soon die.

Written in the space of a few weeks, in a tremendous creative surge, this powerful and beautiful memoir is a clear-eyed account of what dying teaches: Taylor describes the tangle of her feelings, remembers the lives and deaths of her parents, and examines why she would like to be able to choose the circumstances of her death.

Taylor’s last words offer a vocabulary for readers to speak about the most difficult thing any of us will face. And while Dying: A Memoir is a deeply affecting meditation on death, it is also a funny and wise tribute to life.

Musings: 

This memoir was heartbreakingly beautiful. It took me several weeks for me to complete reading thanks to the heavy nature of the subject matter. Cory Taylor is a gorgeous writer. Reading her words and experiencing some of the stories that shaped her life settled deeply in my heart to sit there for me to contemplate and wonder about. 

About two years ago I bought a Euthinasia drug online from China. 

The second I opened up this book on kindle and read this first line over and over again in my mind I knew that this book would be great yet inevitably soul crushing. Cory never shyied away from talking about death, she took the reigns and said her piece effortlessly and with no fear. 

In the end, I took the time to look Cory up simply to gaze upon the face of a women who through her words alone filled me with an immense sense of love and respect for her. 


When I did I found out she passed away on July 5th, 2016 in Windsor, Brisbane, Australia. That was when I really lost it. While I was already crying from this book from there I was bauling (even though I’m sure Cory would wish I wouldn’t cry at all) With her passing the world lost a beautiful writer, one that embodies who she is and writes her soul into the written word.  

Maybe it is time that we are more open with one another about death. The grand equalizer of all living things is ugly, harsh, and depressing yet, it is there and we cannot hide ourselves from its existence. No matter what you believe about the afterlife or of death itself this book is an important one to embrace. 

In the end all I hope for is a life well lived. 

Thank you all for reading! I hope 

15 thoughts on “Dying: A Memior by Cory Taylor… So many tears!

          1. “Hiroshima-born Sadako is lively and athletic–the star of her school’s running team. And then the dizzy spells start. Soon gravely ill with leukemia, the “atom bomb disease,” Sadako faces her future with spirit and bravery. Recalling a Japanese legend, Sadako sets to work folding paper cranes. For the legend holds that if a sick person folds one thousand cranes, the gods will grant her wish and make her healthy again. Based on a true story, Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes celebrates the extraordinary courage that made one young woman a heroine in Japan”
            I pasted the whole blurb here haha… what do you think ??

            Liked by 1 person

          2. It is both haha… its not magical in a literal way, but it surely is magical…. I read it way back, when I was in 3rd or 4th grade… it was absolutely heartbreaking but also very beautiful… I bet it’ll make you cry too 😅

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

