Plank’s Law by Lesley Choyce

My Rating: 4 Stars!

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

Published: September 12th, 2017

Received: Netgalley provided me with an e-arc copy in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Trevor has known since he was ten years old that he has Huntington’s disease, but at sixteen he is informed that he has one year to live. One day while he’s trying to figure stuff out, an old man named Plank finds him standing at a cliff by the ocean. It’s the beginning of an odd but intriguing relationship. Both Trevor and Plank decide to live by Plank’s Law, which is -just live.- This means Trevor has to act on the things on his bucket list, like hanging out with real penguins, star in a science fiction movie and actually talk to Sara–the girl at the hospital who smiles at him.

With the aid of Plank and Sara, Trevor revises his bucket list to include more important things and takes charge of his illness and his life.

Musings:

This is such a refreshingly adorable novel. So much life, joy, and sadness carry throughout these pages and I loved it! Even though this book was short, each character felt so alive and tangible that I really felt for all there individual stories. This story was funny at times and serious in others and I loved how important real friendships were to this novel.

Most of all I loved Plank. Plank, a cranky no nonsense old man who gives all his wisdom to Trevor and teaches him that it’s not enough to be alive, but to truly take chances and live.

Sara and Trevor made such an endearing couple in this story. Both of them going through terminal illness and yet finding happiness in the moment with one another. It all lends to the true live your life to the fullest message that this book has and I absolutely enjoyed it!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think of this novel down in the comments below.

-Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Plank’s Law by Lesley Choyce: A Mini Review

  1. I cannot lie, I was drawn to this book because of its name (what can I say! I have a thing for blackbody radiation), but I was worried it would be too sad. Your review highlights some beautiful things that I think would make me ok with the sad parts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

