Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso

My Rating: 4 stars!

Cover Rating: 5/10 the doll is a huge part of the story and it’s creepy, but I think they could have done a better job. To me it’s just a typical “spooky” cover and it’s nice, but it doesn’t wow me or draw me in very much on its own.

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Publish Date: June 2nd, 2020

Number of Pages: 352

Received: Netgalley provided an e-arc in exchange for an honest review

Purchase: Amazon

Synopsis:

A compulsively readable debut with a narrator who can’t be trusted, perfect for fans of Natasha Preston. She never meant to hurt anyone…

When she was a child, Cassidy Pratt accidentally started a fire that killed her neighbor. At least, that’s what she’s been told. She can’t remember anything from that day. She’s pretty sure she didn’t mean to do it. She’s a victim too. But her town’s bullies, particularly the cruel and beautiful Melody Davenport, have never let her live it down. In Melody’s eyes, Cassidy is a murderer and always will be.

And then Melody goes missing, and Cassidy think she may have information about what happened. She knows she should go to the cops, but…she recently joked about how much she’d like to get rid of Melody. She even planned out the perfect way to do it. And then she gets a chilling text from an unknown number: I’m so glad we’re in this together.

Now it’s up to Cassidy to figure out what’s really going on, before the truth behind Melody’s disappearance sets the whole town ablaze.”

Opening Sentence: “ “Kill it, Cass!” Tina Robbins yells over the pulsing music.”

Musings:

I enjoyed this book. Parts of it were slow and it took a while for me to be super into it, but I liked it all the same. It was a fun read.

What I enjoyed:

The creepy descriptions. One of the creepiest parts of the book are how the main character Cassidy sees things sometimes. People turn into dolls with big blue eyes in her mind and it’s an unsettling part that peppers throughout the novel.

The twists. I should have expected, but did not expect the ending. The signs were there and I got distracted and ended up delightfully surprised at the end. Made the book more interesting.

The paranoia. I liked how mistrustful Cassidy was. It did make things interesting and with someone threatening her it kept me on edge a bit.

All in all

I enjoyed Little Creeping things. It’s a fun little thriller that gets better as it goes and it’s a fun read.

About the author

Chelsea Ichaso writes twisty thrillers for young adults, including LITTLE CREEPING THINGS (Sourcebooks Fire, 2020). A former high school English teacher, she currently resides in southern California with her husband and children. When she’s not reading or writing, Chelsea can be found on the soccer field.

Chelsea is represented by Kristy Hunter of The Knight Agency.

THANK YOU ALL FOR READING! Let me know your thoughts down in the comments below! 

about:blankREPORT THIS AD

Some BLM resources: 

Link to bail funds to donate to!

Link to petitions to sign! 

Link to a video to watch if you can’t donate!

Check out my Instagram and Twitter

Check out The Book Raven Poetry website

Checkout The Book Raven Poetry Instagramand Twitter

Check out the Sisters of Twilight website.

If you love my content and wish to offer me extra support by me a Kofi on my donation page!

6 thoughts on “Little Creeping Things: A Review

  1. Love the sound of this! Comes across as being a highly captivating read 💫 The cover would have scared me off if I’m being honest 😂 but I should never judge a book by it’s cover as the plot seems really interesting. Great review! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s