One of the world’s most beloved band of superheroes unites for the first time in The Avengers to make their stand against Loki the God of Mischief.

As always in these films there is some level of in-fighting. This time it’s Hawkeye fighting alongside Loki thanks to the mind control abilities of Loki’s staff. But, also a bit of fighting between black widow and The Hulk. Then of course there was everyone against Loki. Then, everyone against everyone in their battle of wits filled with too much testosterone. I guess in a way there’s nothing more fantastic then the good guys fighting each other and then putting aside the fight in the name of justice. Plus, a lot of their fights between each other can be pretty funny so it’s fun in that way too.

But hands down one of my absolute favorite scenes to ever grace a Marvel film ever is the one where the Hulk smashes the crap out of Loki. When I first saw this scene I was in tears of laughter. I love it.

Watch it for yourself here:

https://youtu.be/31ZjnrHR8EA

It is pure gold.

What I find to be interesting about The Avengers is that you can split it up into parts. The beginning where all the main players are gathered up on the ship. A very long middle part where they are on the ship and fighting mostly with their conversation until they finally do battle on the ship. Then, the battle where the heroes all come together in New York where Loki summons these Alien things that are apparently called Chitauri. I know this is a little bit picky, but I felt those two beginning parts where a little slow. It’s what makes this film not quite make it on my favorites list of all the marvel films, but still it does have great humor and one of my favorite scenes ever so.. take that as you will.

But, for sure my favorite parts of the film were the battles. Especially the final one. It’s where the heroes themselves finally believe that working together is actually possible and they do work together seamlessly. Captain America comes into his own and leads the entire thing. The Hulk kinda excepts himself and uses his power to his full potential. Hawkeye and black widow fight with their typical badassery. Iron Man sacrifices himself (again). Thor uses his lightning to an amazing affect. Together they realize that they do make quite the team.

There was something so beautifully cinematic about that last New York battle where they fought the threat and still did their best to protect the people who were there and afraid. Then the way they added the newscast to the film at the end where people shared their gratitude, but also their fears and it felt very true to life if superheroes were real in society today.

All in all, the original Avengers film sets up the team of a lifetime. It sets the tone of humor and interaction that we see again and again in later films. It’s the beginning of the greatness that shines brightly in the later films of the franchise. This film is fun, witty, and a great ride. I enjoyed watching it immensely!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts down in the comments below.

-Till next time!

14 thoughts on “The Avengers: A Discussion

  1. Ohh I can still picture that scene, it’s so memorable 😂😂😂 And the battle at the end is my favorite too… This is still my favorite of the MCU, probably coz we see them all together for the first time…
    Yours is a lovely post !!!! And I hope you’ll write about the other movies too…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved The Avengers! It will always hold a special place in my heart because I went to go see it in order to escape studying for my finals. (It became a tradition almost every year since) Also yes the Loki and Hulk scene is one of my favorite comedic scenes of all time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey I did just found a serious mistake in the Avengers Endgame. Maybe it might change the entire MCU forever go and read about it in my blog Avengers Endgame Gone Wrong
https://theadityamali.wordpress.com/2019/05/15/avengers-endgame-gone-wrong/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You made an interesting point. The way I saw it in my head was that endgame was a merger of multiple timelines because the plot would have never existed if Thanos hadn’t snapped everyone out in the first place. It’s almost like time wrinkles I guess. But, it’s all super complicated to try and really theorize and out together.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment